Marijuana is a drug that is treated differently depending on which state you are in. In some states, it’s possible to legally use certain forms of marijuana with a prescription. This can lead to many people having a false sense of security when it comes to the legality of marijuana. For example, one may mistakenly transport the drug on their person from a state in which it is legal to a state where it is not legal.
In South Dakota, the law is strict when it comes to marijuana. All forms of marijuana are illegal in the state, even if you legally gained a prescription for the drug in another state. If you are worried about being found in the possession of marijuana in South Dakota, take the time to understand the law and the consequences of both possession and sale.
The consequences of possessing marijuana in South Dakota
If you are found in the possession of two ounces or less of marijuana in South Dakota, you will face misdemeanor charges. If you are found with more than two ounces of marijuana, you will face felony charges. The severity of the felony charges will depend on the amount of marijuana you are found with.
The consequences of selling marijuana in South Dakota
If you are found to have sold more than half an ounce of marijuana in South Dakota, you will face felony charges, and you will be subject to a minimum mandatory 30-day jail sentence. If marijuana was found in your vehicle, you will additionally have your license suspended for 90 days, even if it is your first offense.
If you accused of marijuana crimes in South Dakota or are in legal possession of marijuana and you are considering traveling to South Dakota with the drugs, it’s vital that you are aware of the legal consequences that this could have. Make sure that you understand the consequences of all drug crimes in South Dakota.